Category: Tarot

Create a Tarot Spread || Tarot Tips and Tricks

When you learn how to create a tarot spread of your own, you realize that there are almost no limits! Sometimes the tarot spreads that we find online work great. Sometimes they don’t quite answer the questions or touch on the certain situation that we need guidance on. We need to be able to know how to craft our own tarot spreads.

What is a tarot spread?

A new month tarot spread outline that shows four cards arranged in a circle. The bottom card is card one, the main theme of the month. Card two is to the left, the past influence affecting the month. Card three is on top, the roadblocks of the month. Card four is to the right, the possibilities of the month.

Putting it simply, a tarot spread is a geometric shape that you lay the cards out in. This is combined with the number of cards you pull as well as the orientation you lay the cards in. For example, you could draw five cards – with five corresponding questions – and then lay them out in the shape of a heart. This type of tarot spread would probably involve matters of, you guessed it, the heart!

The way you spread the cards on the surface is really up to you and, as I said, there are no limits except for your imagination — well, and the fact that most tarot decks only have 78 cards!

The image to the left shows a tarot spread I created to use whenever a new month rolls around. Click the image (or click here) to go read more about that. Also, this is the reading I give out over on Patreon!

Create Your Own Spread

There are a few reasons why you might want to create your own tarot spread. The first one? Maybe you haven’t found a spread that works just right for your situation. You could be facing a unique opportunity or a unique issue — tarot spreads that you can find online are usually fairly generic, so why not make your own?

It also gives you a chance to be creative in your tarot reading. See what kind of shapes you can use. How many cards can you pull at once? What kind of answers can you get from just one or two cards? Can you shape them like a heart for matters involving love and relationships? What about an “X” for things you don’t want to happen? How about a circle for situations that are cyclical in nature? Or a line for situations that might be linear?

Lastly, you might want to create your own tarot spread because it helps you connect better to your reading. Sometimes tarot spreads I find online don’t resonate with me at all. That’s okay! In this case, I just need to make my own. When you know the meaning behind the shape, the reason for the number of cards you pull, and the intent behind the orientation of the cards, you can connect with your answers better. This becomes more of an intuitive style of reading, and I’m all for readings that make sense!

Things to Consider

No matter your reason for making your own spread, there are a few things you want to keep in mind.

Three burning candles stand in a row.
  • How many cards are you going to pull?
  • Will each card correspond with a question? Or will multiple cards be pulled for one question?
  • What shape do you want your spread to be?
  • Does it have meaning to you?
  • Does it just make sense?
  • Does the reading flow?
  • How will you orient the cards?
  • Will some cards be straight up and down? Sideways? Diagonal?

All of these questions can be taken into consideration when crafting your own tarot spread. The beauty, though, is that making your own spread is entirely personal! If you have a question you want guidance on, you can simply as your questions and draw your cards. The choice is completely up to you!

So, go forth and create your own tarot spreads. Let me know in the comments if you do! I’d love to see what you’ve created and the reasoning behind it!

All content is subject to copyright. It may not be distributed as your own in any way. To share this, please link to my website.

Don’t forget to follow me on social media and subscribe to my newsletter.
Twitter | Instagram | Facebook | YouTube | Patreon

Cleanse and Charge your Tarot Deck || Guest Post

You have a Tarot deck! Congrats! But something feels wrong. It’s acting a bit cranky (yes, they can do that!) or just plain feels wrong. Tarot decks are like flypaper. Old energy gets stuck to your cards, making readings inaccurate or just downright hurtful. What do you do? Well look no further dear reader, I’ve got the answers for you in these three simple steps: Cleanse, Charge, and Rest. So how does it all work? Let’s take a look.

How to Cleanse a Tarot Deck — Salt and Smoke || Witchy How-To

Tarot decks, like any other tool in our witchcraft arsenal, can hold residual energy from the environment, our use of the cards, and our emotions. This energy can affect how the cards work for us, so they need to be cleansed regularly. Today, I’m going to share two methods with you that I use to cleanse my decks. There is a video tutorial included at the bottom of this page.

Tarot How-To: One Card Pull

Tarot is a very useful tool for those of us who practice the art of divination. If you’re just learning tarot, then this lesson is for you! When we’re learning something new, it takes practice, and the tarot is no different. You should practice as often as possible, get a feel for your cards, get to know their energy and attitude (yes, cards can have an attitude), and start learning the different meanings behind each one.

Consulting the Tarot: 7/23/19

Consulting the Tarot: 7/23/19

I’m having a sort of crisis of faith lately. It’s nothing huge, just a bit of a change in my beliefs I suppose. Anyway, it affects me emotionally and mentally right now, and I’m not sure how to handle it. I won’t go into too much detail because I plan on doing an episode regarding this situation. However, I wanted to share my tarot reading with you all.

When Following Your Heart is Hard

When Following Your Heart is Hard

I’ve been conflicted over a decision that needs to be made in my personal life for a while now. For some background, I don’t like working a day-job. It takes away from what I’m passionate about, but it pays the bills. I needed some more insight into my thought process today because it is very muddled together between my head and my heart.

Tarot: The Fool’s Journey

The Major Arcana in tarot can be seen as a metaphor for life, with each of the 22 cards representing a major event/person/situation that we may experience on the physical plane. There’s a reason that the major arcana cards are called trump cards, and that’s because when they are pulled in a reading, they are given extra attention due to their importance in the deck. They don’t just stand alone. Each one leads to the next, either forwards or back, depending on your movement in life and the direction that your soul needs to take in this life to achieve its goals.

Tarot: Top 5 Things to Know

If you’ve grown up with any amount of pop-culture in your life, you’re probably familiar with the image of the g*psy woman dressed to the nines, headscarf and all, sitting behind a little wooden table with her crystal ball and tarot cards. Let me be honest with you. That’s so far from the truth of reading tarot today! I’m not even sure where that image came from, but I know that it is based in some semblance of fact. Anyway, that’s not what I’m here to talk about today. There are a few things that need to be said about the tarot, and I’m going to give you the top five today.

Theme: Overlay by Kaira All content (C) Megan Black
Currently in Oregon